Tēnā koe everyone,

Since our last campaign email, and after taking on feedback from our members, AGTA have made the decision to change the venue of this year’s Annual General Meeting. The date for the AGM remains the same.

We hope that the new location at Marist College will make travelling to the AGM easier and might encourage you to attend – we would really love to see you there!

Register your interest to attend here

Directions to car parking and access to the venue at Marist College can be found here. Please note that access to the venue for our AGM is via Gate B (Staff Carpark) on Kitenui Avenue and NOT through the main entrance to Marist College on Alberton Ave.

We at the AGTA need your help. During the year, we work hard to provide you with quality resources, support and engaging workshops and competitions for your students. We do this because we want to support you to be the best Geography educators you can be.

Once a year we hold our Annual General Meeting and this year, we really need you to attend. Coming to our AGM is a great opportunity for you to have your voice heard, network with colleagues from other schools, as well as see what the plans are for AGTA to support you and other teachers during the year.

In order to successfully hold an AGM, we must have at least 15 schools in attendance – right now we are a long way from that number. If we don’t get enough members attending, we have to organise to hold our AGM again, which means delays to you being able to sort your membership (and access to the website and resources).

Will you do your part to help the AGTA and attend this year’s AGM?

Register your interest to attend here

We try to keep our AGMs nice and short and this year should be no different. However, we do want to make one constitutional amendment and to do that, we need at least 15 schools in attendance.

Here’s the constitutional amendment the committee wish to raise:


Thank You word cloud, business concept

Thank-you everyone for all your support and love of geography whilst I have been the chairperson of the AGTA these past few years. I have loved being involved with the AGTA but it is time for someone else to revitalize the team and take the committee and AGTA to new heights. 

I will still attend  AGTA committee meetings just giving others an opportunity to steer it in a different (better) direction).

Please find attached my chairperson’s report for the last year. The very best of wishes for 2019!

AGM report from the Chairperson copy

Congratulations to the new committee and to Aidan Daly, the new chairperson!

Mā te wā

Mary Robinson


Annual General Meeting….

Date: Thursday, 14 March at 4.30pm

Venue: St. Cuthbert’s College


  1. Apologies
  2. Minutes of the 2018 AGM
  3. Chairperson’s Report
  4. Treasurer’s Report
  5. Ratification of Subscriptions
  6. Election of Officers
  7. A.O.B

Nominations are called for, for the officers and committee for 2019.  These must include the name of the nominee, nominator and seconder.  Nominations should be emailed to this email address no later than 9am on Wednesday 6 March 2019.

Please note – we are looking for more committee members and a chairperson.

 Please note parking will be available in the underground car park on Market Rd.

AGM Minutes 2018

AGM held recently – new committee members elected!

The AGTA AGM was held on the 7th March with a new committee elected. (The minute, chairpersons report and accounts details are below)

The new committee is:

Mary Robinson (Chairperson) – contact her at this email address agtassociation@gmail.com

Hannah Wood (Secretary)

Jennifer Mayne (Treasurer)

The committee members include:

Jane Foster – Marist College

Michelle Harvey – Ormiston College

Gill Hanna – Avondale College

Amy Dennis – Western Springs College

Holly McDonald – Bream Bay

Heather Roberts – St Cuthbert’s College

Leigh Lees-Green – Marcellin College

Isla McKnight – Westlake Girls High School

Eleanor Rattray – St Mary’s

Mallory O’Brien – Rangitoto

Gareth Haddon – Aorere College

Aidan Daly – Hobsonville Point

BOGT rep: Jane Evans (Takapuna)


AGM Minutes 2018

AGM report from the Chairperson

AGM Report 2018 final (accounts)

AGM – 27 February 2013

Come to the AGTA AGM.

Join the committee! Have fun, take part in things geographical and be one of the coolest teachers around.

Where: St Cuthbert’s College Auditorium

When: 4.30pm

Drinks afterwards hosted by the Rotorua Education Network.


See you there!